329905
99050058000000

Auctioneers - Applying for public appointment and swearing-in

If you wish to conduct public auctions (compulsory pledge sales or emergency sales), you must be publicly appointed and sworn in as an auctioneer (m/f/d) by the competent supervisory authority.

The public appointment and swearing in is exclusively in the public interest.
It does not serve the personal goals or ideas of the applicant.
In particular, it is not an admission to a profession, but the award of a special qualification. The owners of the auctioned goods have no influence on the price and the minimum bid and must therefore be able to rely on the fact that their property interests are represented at the auction in a particularly qualified way.

Appointments may be made in general or limited to certain types of auctions (e.g. jewellery, antiques or carpets etc.) where there is a need for auctioneer services. It may also be limited in content, set a time limit and be subject to conditions.

The appointment is valid for the entire Federal Republic of Germany and can only be issued to natural persons. As a publicly appointed auctioneer, you are sworn in to perform your duties conscientiously, free from instructions and independently and impartially.

Procedure:

  1. You apply for public appointment as auctioneer at the Senate Administration responsible for economics. You indicate whether you wish to be appointed generally or only for certain types of auctions, i.e. for a specific subject area.
  2. Your application will be examined by the competent authority.
  3. If you satisfy the requirements for public appointment, you will be sworn in and receive an appointment certificate and the notice of appointment.

Prerequisites

  • Natural person
    Only natural persons are able to apply.
    Legal entities (such as GmbHs, associations, registered cooperatives, foundations) cannot be publicly appointed and sworn in.
  • Permission for the auctioneer
    You work freelance or as an employed person for an auctioneer and have a licence for the auctioneer's business. As an employed person you examine and evaluate the auction items independently and free from the instructions of your employer.
  • Special expertise
    • In the case of public appointments for the general sector, you must demonstrate above-average expertise and experience in the valuation of movable objects of the normally equipped household, such as those typically given to pawnbrokers for the purpose of lending (e.g. carpets, furs, jewellery, furniture, art and household effects).
    • In the case of public appointments for certain types of auctions (e.g. antiques, works of art, etc.), you must provide evidence of special expertise and industry knowledge in that field.
    • In addition, you must have knowledge of all relevant provisions concerning the responsibilities, rights and obligations of an auctioneer (Trade Code, Auctioneer Ordinance, Commercial Code and Civil Code).
  • Several years work experience
    You have to demonstrate several years of practical experience as an auctioneer and hold regular (i.e. several times a year) auctions.
  • Orderly financial circumstances
    The reliability of the auctioneer depends first of all on his independence and impartiality; therefore, you must not make yourself vulnerable, particularly in financial terms. You have to provide evidence of your orderly financial circumstances.
  • Personal reliability
    Publicly appointed and sworn auctioneers carry out pledge and emergency sales. The aim here is to protect the economically weaker sections of the population from taking advantage of their distress and from being cheated. This requires the auctioneer to be reliable in character and especially reliable. You must provide evidence of personal reliability (cf. § 34 b section 4 GewO).

Documents required

  • Application
    Submit the application in text form by post or electronically.
  • Identity document
    a clearly readable copy of the identity card or passport and residence permit if the applicant is not a national of an EU country
  • Curriculum vitae
    Tabular curriculum vitae about your professional career, relevant degrees and other completed further education or qualification measures
  • Copies of certificates
    copies of relevant examinations or certificates of course attendance, of professional training and qualification measures
  • Evidence of professional experience
    At least five years of experience as an auctioneer with the implementation of several auctions per year. Documentation of previous work, such as expert report or lists of completed auctions, serve as proof.
  • Proof of expertise
    The appointing authority may ask you to take an examination before a neutral and competent body, e. g. the Chamber of Industry and Commerce.
  • Permission for the auctioneer
    Copy of the permission as auctioneer
  • Certificate of good conduct for presentation to an authority
    To verify personal reliability, a certificate of good conduct is required for submission to an authority (also an official certificate of good conduct). The proof must not be older than 3 months. When applying, please state "Öffentliche Bestellung als Versteigerer nach § 34b Abs. 5 GewO" as the intended purpose.
    The Federal Ministry of Justice also offers an online application procedure. (see "Further information")
  • Excerpt from the central business register for presentation to an authority
    To verify personal reliability, an extract from the central trade register is required for submission to an authority. The proof must not be older than 3 months. When applying, please state "Öffentliche Bestellung als Versteigerer nach § 34b Abs. 5 GewO" as the intended purpose.
    The Federal Ministry of Justice also offers an online application procedure. (see "Further information")
  • Information from the insolvency register
    • For insolvency proceedings of natural persons resident in Berlin, two certificates are required as proof. The first one for consumer insolvency proceedings must be applied for at your local court and the second one for regular insolvency proceedings at the Amtsgericht Charlottenburg Amtsgerichtsplatz 1, 14057 Berlin. The evidence must not be older than 3 months.
    • Applicants with residential/business domicile outside of Berlin should inform themselves about the respective jurisdiction of the insolvency courts via the central local and court register. (see "Further information")
  • Self-information from the debtors' register
    The certificate must not be older than 3 months.
  • Tax-related information ("Bescheinigung in Steuersachen")
    If you already have your own business, contact the company tax office.
    If you do not yet exercise your own business, contact your local tax office.
    The proof must not be older than 3 months.
  • If applicable, business registration
    Copy of the business registration, if you already practice the auctioneer business.
  • If applicable, the employer's certificate of exemption for salaried employees
    If you work as an employee of an auctioneer, please submit a certificate of exemption from work from your employer stating that you have performed your duties without being bound by instructions despite your employment relationship.
  • If applicable, professional liability insurance
    confirmation by an insurance company of the existence of professional indemnity insurance for the auctioneer.

Fees

EUR 56,00 to EUR 600,00 Euro, depending on the administrative effort

Average time to process request

1 - 3 months
Depending on the validity of the documents submitted, the receipt of the certificate of good conduct and any examinations to be taken before a neutral, expert body.

Responsible authorities

The public appointment and swearing-in as auctioneer must be applied for at the Senate Department responsible for economics for persons with business or residence in Berlin.

Instructions for submitting applications by post:

  • Please do not use staples.

Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe

329905
99050058000000

Versteigerergewerbe – Öffentliche Bestellung und Vereidigung beantragen

Wenn Sie öffentliche Versteigerungen (zwangsweise Pfandverkäufe oder Notverkäufe) durchführen möchten, müssen Sie als Versteigerer (m/w/d) von der zuständigen Aufsichtsbehörde öffentlich bestellt und vereidigt sein.

Die öffentliche Bestellung und Vereidigung erfolgt ausschließlich im öffentlichen Interesse.
Sie dient nicht den persönlichen Zielen oder Vorstellungen der antragsstellenden Person.
Sie ist insbesondere keine Zulassung zu einem Beruf, sondern die Zuerkennung einer besonderen Qualifikation. Die Eigentümer des Versteigerungsgutes haben auf den Preis und das Mindestgebot keinen Einfluss und müssen sich deshalb darauf verlassen können, dass bei der Versteigerung ihre Eigentumsinteressen in besonders qualifizierter Weise wahrgenommen werden.

Die Bestellung kann allgemein ausgesprochen oder auf bestimmte Arten von Versteigerungen (z. B. Schmuck, Antiquitäten oder Teppiche etc.) beschränkt werden, soweit für diese ein Bedarf an Versteigererleistungen besteht. Sie kann auch inhaltlich beschränkt, mit einer Befristung versehen und mit Auflagen verbunden werden.

Die Bestellung gilt für das gesamte Bundesgebiet und kann nur natürlichen Personen erteilt werden. Als öffentlich bestellter Versteigerer werden Sie darauf vereidigt, dass Sie Ihre Aufgaben gewissenhaft, weisungsfrei und unparteiisch erfüllen.

Verfahrensablauf:

  1. Sie beantragen die öffentliche Bestellung als Versteigerer bei der für Wirtschaft zuständigen Senatsverwaltung. Sie geben an, ob Sie allgemein oder nur für bestimmte Arten von Versteigerungen, das heißt für ein bestimmtes Sachgebiet, bestellt werden möchten.
  2. Ihr Antrag wird von der zuständigen Behörde geprüft.
  3. Wenn Sie die Voraussetzungen für die öffentliche Bestellung erfüllen, werden Sie vereidigt und erhalten eine Bestellungsurkunde sowie den Bestellungsbescheid.

Voraussetzungen

  • natürliche Person
    Antragsberechtigt sind ausschließlich natürliche Personen.
    Juristische Personen (wie z. B. GmbH, Vereine, eingetragene Genossenschaften, Stiftungen) können nicht öffentlich bestellt und vereidigt werden.
  • Erlaubnis für das Versteigerergewerbe
    Sie arbeiten selbständig oder als angestellte Person bei einem Versteigerer und verfügen über eine Erlaubnis für das Versteigerergewerbe. Als angestellte Person begutachten und bewerten Sie die Versteigerungsstücke selbständig und frei von der Weisung Ihres Arbeitgebers.
  • Besondere Sachkunde
    • Bei öffentlicher Bestellung für den allgemeinen Bereich müssen Sie überdurchschnittliche Fachkenntnisse und Erfahrungen in der Bewertung beweglicher Gegenstände des normal ausgestatteten Haushalts, wie sie typischerweise zum Zwecke der Beleihung an Pfandhäuser übergeben werden (z. B. Teppiche, Pelze, Schmuck, Möbel, Kunst und Hausrat), nachweisen.
    • Bei öffentlicher Bestellung für bestimmte Arten von Versteigerungen (z. B. Antiquitäten, Kunstgegenstände, o. ä.) müssen Sie besondere Fach- und Branchenkenntnissen auf jenem Sachgebiet nachweisen.
    • Darüber hinaus müssen Sie über Kenntnisse sämtlicher einschlägiger Bestimmungen, die die Zuständigkeiten, die Rechte und die Pflichten eines Versteigerers betreffen verfügen (Gewerbeordnung, Versteigererverordnung, Handelsgesetzbuchs und Bürgerliches Gesetzbuchs).
  • Mehrjährige Berufserfahrung
    Sie müssen eine mehrjährige praktische Erfahrung als Versteigerer nachweisen und regelmäßig (d. h. mehrmals pro Jahr) Versteigerungen durchführen.
  • Geordnete wirtschaftliche Verhältnisse
    Die Vertrauenswürdigkeit des Versteigerers hängt in erster Linie von seiner Unparteilichkeit ab; Sie dürfen sich deshalb insbesondere nicht in finanzieller Hinsicht angreifbar machen. Sie müssen daher Nachweise zu Ihren geordneten wirtschaftlichen Verhältnisse erbringen.
  • persönliche Zuverlässigkeit
    Öffentlich bestellte und vereidigte Versteigerer führen Pfand- und Notverkäufe durch. Hier gilt es, die wirtschaftlich schwächeren Bevölkerungskreise vor der Ausnutzung ihrer Notlage und vor Übervorteilung zu schützen. Dies erfordert eine charakterliche Zuverlässigkeit und besondere Vertrauenswürdigkeit des Versteigerers. Die persönliche Zuverlässigkeit müssen Sie nachweisen (vgl. § 34 b Abs. 4 GewO).

Erforderliche Unterlagen

  • Antrag
    Stellen Sie die Antrag in Textform postalisch oder elektronisch.
  • Personaldokument
    eine gut lesbare Kopie des Personalausweis oder Reisepass und Aufenthaltstitel, wenn der Antragsteller nicht Angehöriger eines EU-Landes ist.
  • Lebenslauf
    Tabellarischer Lebenslauf über Ihren beruflichen Werdegang, relevante Abschlüsse und sonstige absolvierte Weiterbildungen bzw. Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen
  • Abschriften von Zeugnissen
    Kopien von einschlägigen Prüfungen oder Teilnahmebescheinigungen, von Fort-, Weiterbildungs- und Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen
  • Nachweise zur Berufserfahrung
    Mindestens fünfjährige Erfahrung als Versteigerer mit der Durchführung mehrerer Versteigerungen pro Jahr. Als Nachweis dienen Dokumentationen durchgeführter Arbeiten, beispielsweise erstellte Gutachten oder Listen durchgeführter Auktionen.
  • Sachkundenachweis
    Die Bestellungsbehörde kann Sie zur Ablegung einer Prüfung vor einem neutralen und sachkundigen Gremium z.B. IHK auffordern.
  • Erlaubnis für das Versteigerergewerbe
    Kopie der Erlaubnis als Versteigerer
  • Führungszeugnis zur Vorlage bei einer Behörde
    Zur Überprüfung der persönlichen Zuverlässigkeit wird ein Führungszeugnis zur Vorlage bei einer Behörde (auch behördliches Führungszeugnis) benötigt. Der Nachweis darf nicht älter als 3 Monate sein. Als Verwendungszweck geben Sie bei Beantragung „Öffentliche Bestellung als Versteigerer nach § 34b Abs. 5 GewO" an.
    Das Bundesministerium für Justiz bietet zudem eine Beantragung im Onlineverfahren an. (siehe „Weiterführende Informationen")
  • Gewerbezentralregisterauszug zur Vorlage bei einer Behörde
    Zur Überprüfung der persönlichen Zuverlässigkeit wird ein Auszug aus dem Gewerbezentralregister zur Vorlage bei einer Behörde benötigt. Der Nachweis darf nicht älter als 3 Monate sein. Als Verwendungszweck geben Sie bei Beantragung „Öffentliche Bestellung als Versteigerer nach § 34b Abs. 5 GewO" an.
    Das Bundesministerium für Justiz bietet zudem eine Beantragung im Onlineverfahren an. (siehe „Weiterführende Informationen")
  • Auskunft aus dem Insolvenzverzeichnis
    • Für Insolvenzverfahren von natürlichen Personen mit Wohnsitz in Berlin sind als Nachweis zwei Bescheinigungen erforderlich. Die Erste für Verbraucherinsolvenzverfahren ist bei Ihrem Wohnortgericht und die Zweite für Regelinsolvenzverfahren beim Amtsgericht Charlottenburg Amtsgerichtsplatz 1, 14057 Berlin zu beantragen. Die Nachweise dürfen nicht älter als 3 Monate sein.
    • Antragssteller mit Wohn-/Betriebssitz außerhalb Berlins informieren sich bitte über die jeweiligen Zuständigkeiten der Insolvenzgerichte über das zentrale Orts- und Gerichtsverzeichnis. (siehe "Weiterführende Informationen")
  • Selbstauskunft aus dem Schuldnerverzeichnis
    Der Nachweis darf nicht älter als 3 Monate sein.
  • Bescheinigung in Steuersachen
    Wird bereits ein eigenes Gewerbe ausgeübt, wenden Sie sich an das Betriebsfinanzamt.
    Wird noch kein eigenes Gewerbe ausgeübt, wenden Sie sich an Ihr Wohnsitzfinanzamt.
    Der Nachweis darf nicht älter als 3 Monate sein.
  • ggf. Gewerbeanmeldung
    Kopie der Gewerbeanmeldung, sofern Sie das Versteigerergewerbe bereits ausüben.
  • ggf. Freistellungsbescheinigung des Arbeitgebers bei Angestellten
    Sofern Sie als Angestellter eines Versteigerers arbeiten, legen Sie bitte eine Freistellungsbescheinigung Ihres Arbeitgebers darüber vor, dass Sie trotz Anstellungsverhältnis Ihre Aufgaben weisungsfrei erfüllt haben.
  • ggf. Berufshaftpflichtversicherung
    Bestätigung eines Versicherungsunternehmens über das Bestehen einer Berufshaftpflichtversicherung für das Versteigerergewerbe.

Gebühren

56,00 bis 600,00 Euro je Aufwand

Durchschnittliche Bearbeitungszeit

1 - 3 Monate
Ja nach Aussagekraft der vorgelegten Unterlagen, des Eintreffens des Führungszeugnisses sowie etwaiger abzulegender Prüfungen vor einem neutralen, sachkundigen Gremium.

Zuständige Behörden

Die öffentliche Bestellung und Vereidigung als Versteigerer sind für Personen mit Betriebs- bzw. Wohnsitz in Berlin bei der für Wirtschaft zuständigen Senatsverwaltung zu beantragen.

Hinweise zur postalischen Antragsstellung:

  • Bitte verzichten Sie auf Heftklammern.

Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe