141571
99058007000000

Register of Craftsmen - Registration

The independent performance of a craft requiring approval from permanent premises is only permitted to natural and legal entities and private companies who are included in the Register of Craftsmen.
A Business is considered a trade requiring approval if it is operated on a craft-oriented basis and fully comprises a trade included in attachment A of the Crafts Code or if activities are performed that are essential to this trade.

Online processing

Service provided online

Prerequisites

  • Master Craftsman’s Certificate
    You qualify for entollment in the Register of Craftsmen of the Chamber of Crafts if you or your operations manager have successfully passed the Master Craftsman examination for a craft requiring approval,:
    • that corresponds to the trade that is to be exercised or
    • for a craft requiring approval that is technically related to this field.
    Note: If these conditions are not met, exemptions may apply in certain cases.
  • Exceptions
    The Crafts Code provides for regulations, according to which the notifying party or the operations manager may also:


    • a.) be included in the Register of Craftsmen if they are graduates of universities or technical colleges (e.g. a graduate engineer)
    Who have passed a German state or state-approved examination (§ 7 sect. 2 HwO) that is equivalent to the master craftsmen examination.
    The focus area of studies or education for their examination must correspond to the registered craft.

    • b.) hold business entitlement according to § 7a HwO:This is granted to individuals who can provide evidence of required knowledge and skills for another trade pursuant to attachment A or for essential activities of this trade.

    • c.) hold business entitlement according to § 7b HwO: Experienced apprenticed craftspeople may start a business on the condition that they can provide evidence of at least six years of practical experience in their craft, at least four of which in a senior position.

    • d.) hold an exemption permit §§ 8, 9 sect. 1 no. 1 HwO: An exemption permit is granted in exceptional cases, if evidence is provided of the required knowledge and skills required for the independent performance of the craft. An exceptional case could include circumstances under which taking part in a master craftsmen examination at the time of application or thereafter would constitute an unreasonable burden.

    • e.) the following applies for foreign applicants: If you take up independent activities in the area of a craft that requires approval, working from premises in Berlin, you must enrol in the Register of Craftsmen. The conditions of the Crafts Code also apply. For foreign companies from countries beyond the European Economic Area, this applies even in the case of short-term commitments (assembly projects, contracting services).
    If you are not a Master Craftsman or are able to provide evidence of an equivalent German examination and are not included in the Register of Craftsman for another type of craft, you may - under certain circumstances - be able to apply for an exemption permit pursuant to §§ 8 or 9 sect. 1 no. 1 HwO.
  • Trade requiring approval (Attachment A of the Crafts Regulation)
    List of all crafts requiring approval

Documents required

  • In the case of registration as a one-man business
    A Master Craftsman Certificate issued by a German Chamber of Crafts for the craft performed or a craft that is considered related to it or a degree certificate from a technical university or a state or state-approved technical college for technology and design or an exemption permit pursuant to § 8 or § 9 sect. 1 no. 1 HwO. The following documents are required, if technical supervision is performed by an employed operations manager: An employment contract for the operations manager, registration for the operations manager with the statutory social security system, notification by the operations manager stating whether they are otherwise active as an employee or an independent tradesperson.
  • In the case of registration as a private company
    A completed and signed application for registration, evidence of qualification for the operations manager. If planning provides for an operations manager to be employed, evidence as listed above must be provided for hiring such an operations manager. Furthermore, private companies must provide a partnership agreement and in the case of an OHG or a KG an excerpt from the trade register (in the case of new company a notarised founding contract) for registration in the Register of Craftsmen.
  • In the case of registration in the Register of Craftsmen as a legal entity
    A filled in and signed application for registration, a Master Craftsman Certificate or relevant proof of qualification for the operations manager, if planning provides for hiring such an employee. In the case of a registration as a legal entity, an excerpt from the trade register or in the case of a newly founded company, a notarised founding contract are also required for registration in the Register of Craftsman.
  • Registration form for the Register of Craftsmen
  • possible exemption permits according to §§ 7a, 7b, 8, 9 sect. 1 no. 1 HwO
    Only required if one of the indicated exceptional cases applies.
  • possible declaration by company management
    Only required if you are not a Master Craftsman yourself but have employed an operations manager who is in charge of technical supervision.

Fees

The following fees arise for registration in the Register of Craftsmen:

  • With master craftsmen examination or other entitlement: EUR 80.00
  • With equivalent examination: EUR 140.00
  • With exemption permit: EUR 105.00
  • With business entitlement: EUR 105.00
  • For legal entities or private companies with the involvement of a legal entity: EUR 180.00
  • For other private companies: EUR 140.00, plus half the amount for each additional partner, in the case of more than 2 partners
  • With an employed operations manager, additionally: EUR 60.00
  • Changes in the Register of Crafts / issuing of a replacement crafts card: EUR 15.00
  • Exemption permits and business entitlement: (§§ 7a,7b, 8, 9 HwO) 280.00 EUR

See also schedule of fees and the current list of fees by the Berlin Chamber of Crafts.

Legal basis

Responsible authorities

Registration in or exemption from the Register of Craftsmen must be applied for with the Chamber of Crafts that is responsible for the main business premises. If this address is not yet known, registration can also be applied for with the Chamber of Crafts that is responsible for the applicant’s place of residence.

You can also access this service online via the Business Portal of the Single Point of Contact.
Online business services

Handwerkskammer Berlin

141571
99058007000000

Handwerksrolle - Eintragung

Der selbständige Betrieb eines zulassungspflichtigen Handwerks als stehendes Gewerbe ist nur den in der Handwerksrolle eingetragenen natürlichen und juristischen Personen und Personengesellschaften gestattet.
Ein Gewerbebetrieb gilt als zulassungspflichtiges Handwerk, wenn es handwerksmäßig betrieben wird und ein Gewerbe, das in der Anlage A der Handwerksordnung aufgeführt ist, vollständig umfasst oder Tätigkeiten ausgeübt werden, die für dieses Gewerbe wesentlich sind.

Voraussetzungen

  • Meisterbrief
    Sie werden in die Handwerksrolle der Handwerkskammer eingetragen, wenn Sie oder Ihr/e Betriebsleiter/in die Meisterprüfung in einem zulassungspflichtigen Handwerk erfolgreich abgelegt hat,:
    • das dem Handwerk entspricht, das ausgeübt werden soll oder
    • in eine mit diesem fachlich-technisch verwandten zulassungspflichtigen Handwerk.
    Hinweis: Sind diese Voraussetzung nicht erfüllt, können in bestimmten Fällen Ausnahmen beantragt werden.
  • Ausnahmen
    Die Handwerksordnung sieht Bestimmungen vor, nach denen der Anzeigende oder die Betriebsleitung auch:

    • a.) als Absolvent von Hoch- und Fachschulen (z.B. als Diplom-Ingenieur)
    mit einer der Meisterprüfung gleichwertigen deutschen staatlichen oder staatlich anerkannten Prüfung (§ 7 Abs. 2 HwO) in die Handwerksrolle eingetragen werden können.
    Voraussetzung ist, dass der Studien- oder Schulschwerpunkt Ihrer Prüfung dem einzutragenden Handwerk entspricht.

    • b.) mit Ausübungsberechtigung nach § 7a HwO:
    Diese erhält, wer für ein anderes Gewerbe der Anlage A oder für wesentliche Tätigkeiten dieses Gewerbes, die hierfür erforderlichen Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten nachweisen kann.

    • c.) mit Ausübungsberechtigung nach § 7b HwO:
    Erfahrene Gesellen und Gesellinnen können sich selbstständig machen, sofern sie mindestens sechs Jahre praktische Tätigkeit in dem Handwerk vorweisen können und davon mindestens vier Jahre in leitender Stellung tätig waren.

    • d.) mit Ausnahmebewilligung §§ 8, 9 Abs.1 Nr.1 HwO:
    In Ausnahmefällen ist eine Ausnahmebewilligung zu erteilen, wenn die zur selbständigen Ausübung des zulassungspflichtigen Handwerks notwendigen Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten nachgewiesen sind. Ein Ausnahmefall liegt zum Beispiel vor, wenn die Ablegung einer Meisterprüfung zum Zeitpunkt der Antragstellung oder danach für ihn eine unzumutbare Belastung bedeuten würde.

    • e.) für ausländische Antragssteller gilt:
    Mit der Aufnahme eines selbstständigen zulassungspflichtigen Handwerks von einer Niederlassung in Berlin müssen Sie sich in die Handwerksrolle eintragen lassen. Es gelten hierbei ebenfalls die Bedingungen der Handwerksordnung. Dieses gilt für ausländische Unternehmen aus Staaten außerhalb des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraumes auch bei kurzfristigen handwerklichen Einsätzen (Montagearbeit, Werkvertragsleistungen).
    Verfügen Sie nicht über einen Meistertitel oder den Nachweis einer gleichwertigen deutschen Prüfung oder sind nicht mit einem anderen Handwerk bereits in der Handwerksrolle eingetragen, besteht unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen die Möglichkeit, eine Ausnahmebewilligung nach §§ 8 oder 9 Abs.1 Nr.1 HwO zu beantragen.
  • zulassungspflichtige Gewerbe (Anlage A der Handwerksordnung)
    Auflistung aller zulassungspflichtigen Handwerke

Erforderliche Unterlagen

  • Im Falle der Eintragung als Einzelunternehmen
    Ein von einer deutschen Handwerkskammer ausgestelltes Meisterprüfungszeugnis für das ausgeübte oder für verwandt erklärte Handwerk oder ein Abschlusszeugnis einer technischen Hochschule oder staatlich bzw. staatlich anerkannten Fachschule für Technik und für Gestaltung oder eine Ausnahmebewilligung nach § 8 oder § 9 Abs.1 Nre.1 HwO. Falls ein anzustellender Betriebsleiter die handwerkliche Leitung übernehmen muss, sind folgende Nachweise erforderlich: Ein Anstellungsvertrag mit dem handwerklichen Betriebsleiter, eine Anmeldung des Betriebsleiters bei der gesetzlichen Sozialversicherung, die Mitteilung des handwerklichen Betriebsleiters, ob er noch anderweitig als Arbeitnehmer oder als selbständiger Gewerbetreibender tätig ist.
  • Im Falle der Eintragung als Personengesellschaft
    Ein ausgefüllter und unterschriebener Eintragungsantrag, einen Qualifikationsnachweis des Betriebsleiters. Soll ein Betriebsleiter angestellt werden, sind die Nachweise entsprechend vorstehender Aufzählung zur Anstellung eines Betriebsleiters beizubringen. Daneben sind für den Eintrag in die Handwerksrolle im Falle der Eintragung als Personengesellschaft ein Gesellschaftsvertrag, im Falle der Anmeldung als OHG und KG ein Handelsregisterauszug (bei Gründung einen notariellen Gründungsvertrag) vorzulegen.
  • Im Falle der Eintragung in die Handwerksrolle als juristische Person
    Ein ausgefüllter und unterschriebener Eintragungsantrag, ein Meisterprüfungszeugnis oder entsprechender Qualifikationsnachweis des handwerklichen Betriebsleiters, falls ein Betriebsleiter angestellt werden soll. Daneben sind für den Eintrag in die Handwerksrolle im Falle der Eintragung als juristische Person ein Handelsregisterauszug, bzw. im Falle einer Neugründung ein notarieller Gründungsvertrag erforderlich.
  • Formular Eintragung in die Handwerksrolle
  • ggf. Ausnahmeanträge nach §§ 7a, 7b, 8, 9 Abs.1 Nr.1 HwO
    Nur erforderlich sofern Sie unter einen der dort genannten Ausnahmetatbestände fallen.
  • ggf. Betriebsleitererklärung
    Nur erforderlich sofern Sie nicht selbst den Meistertitel besitzen, sondern einen Betriebsleiter mit der handwerklichen Leitung des Betriebes angestellt haben.

Gebühren

Für den Eintrag in die Handwerksrolle fallen folgende Gebühren an:

  • Mit Meisterprüfung oder sonstiger Berechtigung: 80,00 EUR
  • Mit gleichwertiger Prüfung: 140,00 EUR
  • Mit Ausnahmebewilligung: 105,00 EUR
  • Mit Ausübungsberechtigung: 105,00 EUR
  • Von juristischen Personen sowie Personengesellschaften mit Beteiligung einer juristischen Person: 180,00 EUR
  • Von sonstigen Personengesellschaften: 140,00 EUR, bei mehr als zwei Gesellschaftern für jeden weiteren Gesellschafter zusätzlich die Hälfte
  • Mit angestelltem Betriebleiter zusätzlich: 60,00 EUR
  • Veränderungen in der Handwerksrolle/Ausstellung Ersatzhandwerkskarte: 15,00 EUR
  • Ausnahmebewilligungen und Ausübungsberechtigungen: (§§ 7a,7b, 8, 9 HwO) 280,00 EUR

Vgl. auch die Gebührenordnung sowie das aktuelle Gebührenverzeichnis der Handwerkskammer Berlin.

Rechtsgrundlagen

Zuständige Behörden

Die Eintragung in die Handwerksrolle oder eine Ausnahme sind bei der für die gewerbliche Hauptniederlassung zuständigen Handwerkskammer zu stellen. Ist diese noch nicht bekannt, kann die Eintragung auch bei der für den Wohnsitz des Antragstellers zuständigen Handwerkskammer beantragt werden.

Diese Dienstleistung können Sie auch online über das Gewerbe-Portal des Einheitlichen Ansprechpartners erhalten.
Gewerbeservice online

Handwerkskammer Berlin